Reading the Feast for Crows: A Review

George R. R. Martin is well known as the writer of a high fantasy novel, A Game of Thrones. This novel captivated readers all over the world with its thick plot and superb storytelling. The second book was A Clash of Kings while the third book was A Storm of Swords. He continued the epic story in his fourth book, A Feast for Crows. This one is available as an audiobook. You can listen to it as you drive, relax or in your iPod as you work. There is also a fifth book known as A Dance with Dragons. A Feast for Crows was a long-anticipated book. In it, the struggle for total control for the land of Westeros continues.

Plot Summary

In the first three books, the Five Kings go to war against each other for control of Westeros. The war ravages each of the seven kingdoms and in the fourth book, A Feast for Crows, the effects of the prolonged war are indicated. The people of the kingdoms are left dealing with disease, famine as well as criminal outlaws seeking to pillage and take whatever they can. Their situation is about to get even worse. The Westeros winter that lasts for many years is about to come, and the people have little to no provisions.

The well-known characters of the story also have significant activities happening in their lives. Stannis Baratheon goes to aid in administering the Wall. On reaching there, he discovers that Jon Snow has become the 998th Lord Commander of the Night’s Watch. In King’s Landing, King Tommen Baratheon rules with his mother Cersei Lannister serving as regent. Jaime Lannister, on the other hand, is on a mission with Brienne, the Maid of Tarth to find Sansa Stark. They don’t know that the Stark is hiding in the Vale. She is under the watchful eye of Petyr Baelish. An ungainly character himself, Petyr Baelish killed his wife and installed himself as the Protector of the Vale. Moreover, he is also the sole guardian of Lord Robert Arryn who is eight years of age.

The events in this book unfold in each of the seven kingdoms. The activities of Pate are covered in a prologue in Oldtown while the machinations of Cersei Lannister happen in King’s Landing. Int he Riverlands, Jaime Lannister seeks to restore control while in the Vale Sansa Stark is seen as the daughter of Peytr and goes by the name Alayne. On the Iron Islands, a Kingsmoot is called by Aeron Damphair to discuss the fallen king’s successor. In Dorne, Doran Martell has to deal with three vindictive daughters of his dead brother who are baying for the blood of their father’s murderer. Arya Stark undergoes a transformation in the East Kingdon under the direction of assassins known as the Faceless Men in the House of Black and White.

The Atmosphere in A Feast for Crows

In this book, the general atmosphere is one of melancholy and uneasy peace. The Five Kings have engaged in strife and treachery that resulted in all-out war. Their actions have caused them to decimate their kingdoms, and the people are left to pay for the destruction that the kings caused. The hated King Joffrey is dead and his mother, Cersei Lannister is regent at King’s Landing. Robb Stark was seen as a potential leader, but his death has demoralized the Northern rebels. The house of Stark seems to have a bleak future since their children are scattered all over the Kingdom. There are a few claims to the Iron Throne. These claims are not active because they are either too weak to stake the claim or too far from the Iron Throne to have a chance of success.

The war had gone on for too long, and the people of the Seven Kingdoms are left to pick the ashes seeking for anything of value while pillaging the possessions of the soon to be dead. The people comprise survivors, outlaws, carrion eaters as well as renegade soldiers. They have become human crows, picking the flesh of a dying kingdom to live long enough to taste tomorrow.

Where to get a Feast for Crows Audiobook

You can get this fantastic book by George R. R. Martin in the form of an audiobook, or the digital ebook version if you want to read feast for crows online. It is 33 hours and 56 minutes long. The audiobook is unabridged and is published by Random House Audio. It was released on December 15th, 2011. Once you get it, it is Whispersync ready and is narrated to you in English.

Pride and Prejudice – A Classic in British Literature

Few people in the world can claim not to know Pride and Prejudice. No matter the country, city or Language, Pride and Prejudice is beloved globally as one of the greatest literary classics ever written.

A love story exploring social inequality and class systems, the book brings to life a variety of captivating characters and plots, making every minute of the Pride and Prejudice Audiobook a moment to treasure.

The Plot of Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen’s novel is set at the turn of the 19th century. It follows the lives of the five Bennett Sisters who live in a time where the man one chooses to marry can determine the course of their future.

While attending a Ball, the eldest Bennett daughter catches the eye of one Mr. Bingley, who is immediately attracted to her. Mr. Darcy, on the other hand, displays a personality bordering on rude to Elizabeth, the second Bennett Daughter, an attitude that drives Elizabeth to form some unfair conceptions about the wealthy Bachelor.

What follows is an adventure for the Bennett sisters, who must contend with matters of class, family, and marriage in a male-dominated society.

This classic story, portraying the unreliable nature of Pride and Prejudice, has been adapted many times over since its initial publication all those years ago, the literary work changing to better meet the preferences of all readers in all age brackets.

However, for all the masterpieces that have emerged out of Jane Austen’s most beloved work, the Pride and Prejudice audiobook probably stands a few places above them all, and for some good reasons.

One hasn’t truly read Pride and Prejudice until they have heard it narrated. While initially suffering from dry and uninspiring voices, the most recent iterations of the Pride and Prejudice audiobook are a class part.

There is a stark difference between hearing the audiobook and watching or even hearing one of its various television and radio dramas. The Pride and Prejudice Audiobook strives to deliver the words of Jane Austen as faithfully as possible, eliminating unnecessary flair or changes designed to meet the sorts of timeline restrictions television and radio dramas face.

As such the audiobook essentially takes the reading experience and elevates it, allowing listeners the opportunity to delve into the true depths of the drama behind the novel, the entertaining world of the sisters and the men, and women, around them taking on a whole new life.

Even when narrated by the same voice, there is distinctness to each character, the narration providing listeners a unique perspective of the weaving and twisting plot also while making the humor so much more impactful.

Sufficing to say one hasn’t read Pride and Prejudice until they have consumed the audiobook. There is a reason it enjoys so much popularity even among individuals that have already read the book several dozen times over.

Back to Top