Reading the Feast for Crows: A Review

George R. R. Martin is well known as the writer of a high fantasy novel, A Game of Thrones. This novel captivated readers all over the world with its thick plot and superb storytelling. The second book was A Clash of Kings while the third book was A Storm of Swords. He continued the epic story in his fourth book, A Feast for Crows. This one is available as an audiobook. You can listen to it as you drive, relax or in your iPod as you work. There is also a fifth book known as A Dance with Dragons. A Feast for Crows was a long-anticipated book. In it, the struggle for total control for the land of Westeros continues.

Plot Summary

In the first three books, the Five Kings go to war against each other for control of Westeros. The war ravages each of the seven kingdoms and in the fourth book, A Feast for Crows, the effects of the prolonged war are indicated. The people of the kingdoms are left dealing with disease, famine as well as criminal outlaws seeking to pillage and take whatever they can. Their situation is about to get even worse. The Westeros winter that lasts for many years is about to come, and the people have little to no provisions.

The well-known characters of the story also have significant activities happening in their lives. Stannis Baratheon goes to aid in administering the Wall. On reaching there, he discovers that Jon Snow has become the 998th Lord Commander of the Night’s Watch. In King’s Landing, King Tommen Baratheon rules with his mother Cersei Lannister serving as regent. Jaime Lannister, on the other hand, is on a mission with Brienne, the Maid of Tarth to find Sansa Stark. They don’t know that the Stark is hiding in the Vale. She is under the watchful eye of Petyr Baelish. An ungainly character himself, Petyr Baelish killed his wife and installed himself as the Protector of the Vale. Moreover, he is also the sole guardian of Lord Robert Arryn who is eight years of age.

The events in this book unfold in each of the seven kingdoms. The activities of Pate are covered in a prologue in Oldtown while the machinations of Cersei Lannister happen in King’s Landing. Int he Riverlands, Jaime Lannister seeks to restore control while in the Vale Sansa Stark is seen as the daughter of Peytr and goes by the name Alayne. On the Iron Islands, a Kingsmoot is called by Aeron Damphair to discuss the fallen king’s successor. In Dorne, Doran Martell has to deal with three vindictive daughters of his dead brother who are baying for the blood of their father’s murderer. Arya Stark undergoes a transformation in the East Kingdon under the direction of assassins known as the Faceless Men in the House of Black and White.

The Atmosphere in A Feast for Crows

In this book, the general atmosphere is one of melancholy and uneasy peace. The Five Kings have engaged in strife and treachery that resulted in all-out war. Their actions have caused them to decimate their kingdoms, and the people are left to pay for the destruction that the kings caused. The hated King Joffrey is dead and his mother, Cersei Lannister is regent at King’s Landing. Robb Stark was seen as a potential leader, but his death has demoralized the Northern rebels. The house of Stark seems to have a bleak future since their children are scattered all over the Kingdom. There are a few claims to the Iron Throne. These claims are not active because they are either too weak to stake the claim or too far from the Iron Throne to have a chance of success.

The war had gone on for too long, and the people of the Seven Kingdoms are left to pick the ashes seeking for anything of value while pillaging the possessions of the soon to be dead. The people comprise survivors, outlaws, carrion eaters as well as renegade soldiers. They have become human crows, picking the flesh of a dying kingdom to live long enough to taste tomorrow.

Where to get a Feast for Crows Audiobook

You can get this fantastic book by George R. R. Martin in the form of an audiobook, or the digital ebook version if you want to read feast for crows online. It is 33 hours and 56 minutes long. The audiobook is unabridged and is published by Random House Audio. It was released on December 15th, 2011. Once you get it, it is Whispersync ready and is narrated to you in English.

Back to Top